Owned stadiums and sponsors, the comparison between Serie A and Europe

Analysis of the ownership and names of the sports facilities where matches are games in the 5 most important European leagues

Dacia Arena, Udine

Nowadays, for a club, having its own stadium (in the name of the football club or an affiliated entity) provides a great advantage in terms of economic revenue, but the situation is not the same throughout Europe. From box office revenues to the non-necessity of paying rent: a substantial initial expense – perhaps incurred together with sponsors – can be fundamental for the growth of a club.

Owned stadiums in Italy

In spite of the numerous projects, of the 17 facilities that will host the games of the 2021/22 Serie A (here the capacity with a 1 meter of social distancing), only 4 are owned by the club that uses them:

  • Allianz Stadium – Juventus
  • Mapei Stadium – Sassuolo
  • Gewiss Arena – Atalanta
  • Dacia Arena – Udinese

The remaining stadiums are all owned by the host municipality, with the sole exception of the Stadio Olimpico in Rome – owned by CONI.

Owned stadiums in Europe

In the Top 5 European leagues – excluding the already mentioned Serie A – the realities are different, in fact, the Premier League and the Bundesliga have always been considered models of reference in terms of sports facilities and this is confirmed by the number of stadiums owned:

  • Bundesliga: 16 on 18
  • Premier League: 17 on 20
  • La Liga: 11 on 20
  • Ligue 1: 1 on 20 (Groupama Stadium – Olympique Lione)

What are the branded stadiums?

Here is the list, broken down by leagues, of facilities that lend their names for commercial reasons:

Serie A

  • Gewiss Arena – Atalanta
  • Unipol Arena – Cagliari
  • Allianz Stadium – Juventus
  • Mapei Stadium – Sassuolo
  • Dacia Arena – Udinese

Premier League

  • Emirates Stadium – Arsenal
  • AMEX Arena – Brighton & Hove
  • King Power Stadium – Leicester City
  • Etihad Stadium – Manchester City

La Liga

  • Wanda Metropolitano – Atletico Madrid
  • Abanca Balaidos – Celta Vigo
  • Reale Arena (Anoeta Stadium) – Real Sociedad

Ligue 1

  • Stade Matmut-Atlantique – Bordeaux
  • Allianz Riviera – Nizza
  • Groupama Stadium – Olympique Lione
  • Stade Orange Velodrome – Olympique Marsiglia

Bundesliga (these are the only unbranded):

  • Olympiastadion – Hertha BSC
  • SC Stadion – SC Freiburg
  • Borussia Park – Borussia Mönchengladbach

By Giovanni Maggio, SerieA24.it

Related articles